2023 Keynote Speaker / 主旨报告

Prof. Dean Sharafi
Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO), Australia

Speech Title: Towards Net Zero Energy Systems - What Are the Challenges of Power Systems in High Renewable Energy Penetration?

Dean Sharafi is heading up the System Design and Transformation Group of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO). Dean holds a degree in Applied Physics, a degree in Electrical Engineering and a degree in Business Management. He has around 30 years of experience in power system engineering which includes Power System Protection, High Voltage Systems, Asset Management and Power System and Electricity Market Operation. He is a member of Australian Institute of Management, Cigre, Engineers Australia and a senior member the IEEE. Dean has been actively involved with IEEE Power and Energy Society initiatives and Cigre Working Groups over the last decade and has served as a member of the Governing Board of the IEEE PES from 2017 to 2022. Dean has published many papers on power system protection, condition monitoring, asset management and power system operations. He lectured for a decade as a Sessional Academic on Power System Earthing at Curtin University in Western Australia. Dean is also the author of his memoire “The Unwilling Revolutionary.”

Prof. Tao Jin
Fuzhou University

IET Fellow


Speech Title: Research on Key Technologies of New Power System Energy Routers Based on New Energy and Energy Storage

Professor Tao Jin serves as the Dean of the Advanced Electrical and Rail Transit Equipment Research Institute at Fuzhou University and the Director of the Advanced Power Technology International Research Center. He also holds more than 20 academic positions, including IET Fellow, Senior Member of IEEE, and Senior Member of the Chinese Society of Electrical Engineering. He has won the First Prize for Science and Technology Progress in Fujian Province (ranked first), the Top 2% Scientists in the World, and served as the co-chief editor of ESTA Journal, as well as an editorial board member for PCMP, MPCE, High Voltage, Scientific Reports, and other SCI-indexed journals. Prof. Tao Jin has published over 200 papers, including 150 SCI/EI indexed papers in well-known journals, and over 2000 citations.

Prof. Tianzhen Wang
Shanghai Maritime University, China


Speech title: Blades Biofouling Diagnosis of Marine Current Power Generation System

Tianzhen Wang is Full Professor at Shanghai Maritime University and Research Affiliate researcher and Doctoral Supervisor of the Institute de Recherche Dupuy de Lôme (IRDL)of France. Her research interests include fault diagnosis, fault-tolerant control methods, and application in ocean energy. She is the IEEE senior member, committee member of the IEEE Energy Storage Technology Committee, committee member of the National Ocean Energy Conversion Equipment Standardization Technical Committee, Committee member of the CAA Fault Diagnosis and Safety of Technical Process Specialized Committee, and convener of IEC/TC114 Advisory Group 2. And she has published more than 100 papers, 26 patents in China and the United States, 6 books, 5 national standards and 1 IEC standard. She won the IEC 1906 Award.

APET 2022 Keynote Speakers